M-A announces its new Athletic Hall of Fame inductees

by Contributed Content on August 29, 2014

Menlo-Atherton High School announced its newest inductees to the Athletic Hall of Fame on Wednesday. They are:

  • Greg Camarillo (class of 1999): four-year letterman in football who also played basketball; went on to the NFL
  • Kelly Eaton (class of 2006): swimmer and water polo player, earning MVP owners
  • Connie and Owen Hawkins (1989-93): founders of the Booster Club
  • Erica Hayes (class of 2008): basketball player who is playing professionally in Europe
  • Jeremy Mineua (class of 2004): cross country and track, finishing first in the 3200m race at the CCS Championships two years in a row
  • Susan Mohr (2004-present): booster who initiated the Big Bear Run
  • Kitty Moore (1969-2012): parent volunteer/boys soccer who continued to support the sport after her children graduated from M-A
  • Brent Vartan (class of 1994): football, soccer, track and field, excelling at all; played football at Cal
  • Plato Yanicks (1965-1994): coach, cross country/track and field whose teams teams at Alameda, Hillsdale and M-A won a total of 20 boys and girls varsity championships in cross country and track and 29 minor championships
  • 1978 Girls Swim Team: coached by coached by Inez Nagai, will go down in history as the first M-A Girls CCS championship team
  • 1989 Boys Basketball Team: coached by Jeff Klenow, dominated their Peninsula Athletic League opponents during the 1988-89 season, with average margin of victory 25 points

Pictured from left to right are Susan Mohr, Plato Yanicks, Atiba Williams, Erica Hayes, Connie Hawkins


Comments are closed.


Please help support InMenlo! Your contribution will help us continue to bring InMenlo to you. Click on the button below to contribute!