[email protected] concludes Winter Series on May 8

by Linda Hubbard on April 23, 2011

A limited number of tickets are available for “Great Piano Quartets,” which concludes [email protected]’s winter series on Sunday, May 8, at 4:00 pm at The Center for Performing Arts at Menlo-Atherton. The program features four musicians — pianist and conductor Jeffrey Kahane and virtuosos violinist Arnaud Sussmann, violist Paul Neubauer, and cellist Christopher Costanza of the St. Lawrence String Quartet — and offers two works of the piano quartet literature: Mozart’s Piano Quartet in g minor, K. 478, one of the genre’s early and definitive essays, and Robert Schumann’s Opus 47 Piano Quartet. Beethoven’s rarely heard D Major String Trio offers a link between Mozartian classicism and the fiery romanticism of Schumann. Tickets are $50/$45 for adults and $25/$20 for students; they can be purchased online or by phone at 650-331-0202.

Photo courtesy of [email protected]

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: